thank you for your support

 

 

One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors. — Plato

My last post here was an open letter to OpenStack.

The result was a number of conversations, some public and some private, about OpenStack’s history and direction.

Without solicitation, I was nominated as a candidate to the OpenStack board.

In follow up conversations, I have been convinced to actively campaign for this position and this is my attempt to do so.

While I believe the OpenStack board is not empowered to take actions directly, a board seat would legitimize my voice to provide perspectives that are currently under represented in the current conversation at that level.

That is why I was nominated and I would see that as my duty.

I have opinions and perspectives that oppose the status quo. I am now 100% confident that these should be given voice by virtue of the fact that I’ve had people who have bet their careers and livelihood on OpenStack thank and encourage me for articulating issues with OpenStack that they experience on a daily basis.

In the interest of full disclosure, I wanted to list my position and what I represent as a candidate:

  • I accept that the board shouldn’t be dictating technical solutions. I reject the idea that the board shouldn’t be concerned with or discuss technical quality.
  • Accepting and fully embracing the notion that the OpenStack Foundation and by extension the board are primarily concerned with marketing, I believe the best possible marketing is a high quality project that is a pleasure to use and operate.
  • I am against a proliferation of projects while core infrastructure functionality remains painfully unresolved.
  • I am not in favor of time based releases that prioritize dates above other considerations.
  • I promise to make the experience of the front line user and operator a primary driver in all actions and decisions I’m involved in as an OpenStack board member.
  • Towards that end, I will support my positions with users and operator case studies and publicly available information from the projects.

My goal is not to focus on anything negative, but to provide counterpoint and recognize that negative doesn’t get addressed by ignoring it’s existence.

If you believe I represent your interests enough to warrant a vote, I would be honored to have your support next week in the OpenStack Board Election.

Andrew Clay Shafer

P.S. I’m happy to respond to questions in the comments.

 


Leave a Reply

