More Puppet Stories

These are my slides from RubyConf.  They are mostly images, so I’ll talk you through them (maybe not what I said at RubyConf, but in the same spirit)

I love that Escher’esque image of interlocking puppets (the Puppet logo is an abstraction of that). That was just there for something interesting during my 30 second introduction.

If you were at Mountain West Ruby Conference last year, then those next slides mostly make sense, if not, then you should be there this year.

The next 4 slides are about the different mindsets between developers and sysadmins.  I also like to point out how software changed when it isn’t shipped on CDs. If you are working on a web applications, particularly of any scale, any turbulent disharmony between these two tribes is going to cost you.  I also admit that I’ve solved problems with ‘chmod 777’ so there isn’t any doubt which tribe I came from.

Yay, Puppet, Yay, Ruby, these next slides I talk about what the Puppet project is, that it is all in Ruby, that Puppet, like Ruby, is a passion project driven.

Then the inquisitor… great tools are opinionated. Ruby on Rails is opinionated. Puppet is opinionated. When you, or your project, resonate with those opinions those tools will make you happy. If you don’t or can’t, you might think those tools hate you. Sometimes you should rethink what you are trying to do, and sometimes you might need a different tool.

Then the sysadmin slides, into Luke’s story, that most sysadmins don’t see any problems, other than the fact that most organizations are afraid to touch their machines and shudder at the thought of having to rebuild anything significant in the production environment.

This is an image of the internet, a couple years old now, but I think it is a stunning picture and gives a sense of the scale.

The obligatory cloud slide… minimizes your hardware headaches, but multiplies your configurations.

And how do people handle all those configurations?  Ahh yeah, the meat cloud…

But really most sys admins do the same work… not just over and over, but from..organization to organization..

Now back to Luke… can cfengine… and wanting something better… way better…

And some of the people using Puppet… and we want to make Puppet like a gun in a knife fight… Pub by 4… and a quick overview of why puppet has this effect

Little slide about portability and then how once these configurations are generalized, people can share them

Then a bunch of slides showing parallels between puppet code and common sysadmin task of installing, configuring and starting services.

Perspectives was a little reflection about how much stuff is in Puppet and what to show Rubyists at a conference.

I decided to show an example of a simple Type and Provider, first explaining a bit about the model and idempotence, then finally how you can use that in the Puppet language. Code code code…

Talk about other tools and where/why you might use other tools.  Not everything is a nail.

Puppet’s Open Community

And what’s Next?


5 responses to “More Puppet Stories

  • Pavel Koshevoy

    The slides about villagers/werewolfs are distracting, and I didn’t really get what was going on there. Of course, I don’t know ruby, perhaps it’s obvious to rubyists.

  • stochasticresonance

    Pavel,

    How’s my favorite Russian?

    It’s the Ruby code to build a Puppet type and provider.

    The whole slide deck is meant to be ‘presented’. I think without commentary you can say the same thing about all the slides… ‘distracting and I didn’t really get what was going on there’.

    This was for a Ruby conference, so I wanted to show Ruby code. What do you think would help make it more accessible? Should I expand the commentary about the code in this post? It could be a whole post, there is a bit going on.

    I always think it is hard to understand anything that is not trivial until I can actually run the code and see how it works.

    Cheers,
    Andrew

  • Pavel Koshevoy

    You could use something more meaningful in the name than foo, bar, villager and werewolf.

  • stochasticresonance

    Seriously, what could be more meaningful than foo and bar to a programmer?

    The goal was to give something simple enough that people have some chance of consuming and still illustrate the idioms while hopefully having some edu-tainment value. Plus, i have to amuse myself…:/ (I think it is funny that you comment about the foo and bar, but have nothing to say about Darth Vader. What was going on there?)

    Changing the strings doesn’t make it more meaningful IMHO, but I’d love to hear your ideas about what would make it better, because I will be doing more technical presentations. Send me email…

    Come out and play werewolf with me…

  • stochasticresonance

    The origins of the werewolf game are Russian, if that helps…

Leave a Reply

