Weather the Storm (or ‘learn something for next time’)

I’ve had a lot of thoughts to blog, just not a lot of time. Not to make excuses… if you followed my twitter you’d know I try to stay busy.

Rubyconf was great, my talk was ok, B+ maybe, I learned some lessons, next talk will benefit, lots of cool smart people, trying to explain Puppet to Ruby developers is always interesting. I gave another version of the talk at the Utah Ruby Users Group.

Ignite Salt Lake was epic, but apparently the AV capture was a fail.  Total lighting fail and everyone is really dark in the video. This is sad because the talks really were excellent.  The strategy is to try some image processing and see if there is anything worth salvaging, and if not just take the audio and match it with the slides. Another lesson learned, next time will be better.

My wife is traveling almost every week lately for interviews and leaving me home with the boys.  She is trying to match in an opthalmology program and the whole process is black magic, which means a bit of stress and we have no idea where we will be in 6-18 months.

Part of me wants to stay here in Salt Lake City, because I love the high mountain desert and will always have roots here, but I always like new things and it would be nice to get acquainted with a new town.

I’ll be glad when the process is over one way or another.

There seems to be an upsurge in the Agile backlash lately, but I have personally made most of the same observation/critiques before.  Should make the next Agile Roundtable discussion more fun.  On a related note, there seems to be an upswing of ‘pastry‘ searches on blogs (maybe just the holidays).  Oh well, popularity drives dilution, and now I really really really want to have an AgileFringe conference.

I feel some good posts percolating… (next time will be better…)


Leave a Reply

