Keepin’ On

Been keeping busy, just checking in. . .

The conferences in SF (Velocity, Cloudcamp, Structure) were a great time to learn, to teach, and make friends. Puppet got a lot of love, but we still have a much grander view of the potential for the project. Puppet is still basically an awesome working prototype, the next year should see improved performance, clean and clear points for integration and a lot more reporting.

Luke showed a video of a GUI reporting application that aggregates and helps visualize Puppet’s reporting. We had a an email the next morning from a Fortune 500 company about getting into the closed beta. Looks like another large internet property is also going to be in.

This last week, I did a tiny bit of development for the 0.24.5 release and finally restyled reductivelabs.com to be a bit cleaner. I also worked on some slides about Reductive Labs for OATV StartupCamp and threw around some ideas for an Ignite talk for Foo Camp, which are both next week.

I was thinking about ‘What Would Machiavelli Do?’ because Niccolo always gets a bad wrap, but now I’m leaning towards ‘Business Advice From Western Philosophers’. (I’d still throw in some Machiavelli.) I’m going to struggle to boil things down to 20 slides but I think I can make an engaging talk. (I could probably spin at least half a dozen fun talks out with all the different philosophical schools, probably starting with ‘Existentialists‘. And then there is always the Taoists or the Sufis. . .) Feel free to make suggestions in the comments.

StartupCamp and FOOCamp are another great opportunity to get out and spread the Puppet word, but also to learn from a lot of smart people who are doing interesting things. I’m sure my mind will be buzzing this time next week, and some of that is bound to generate some interesting posts. Right?

I also am going to be at Agile 2008, and on that note, some really nice thoughts about software development and infrastructure are starting to crystallize, stay tuned. . . I promise something meaty before StartupCamp starts on the 10th.


Leave a Reply

