Perfunctory Introduction

I should welcome myself to web 2.0 or something. . .

Some people might consider me somewhat a technologist but that is misleading and superficial, at least in my opinion.

I’m fairly decent with technical things and thankfully that has allowed me play with some really cool stuff and to cash some checks to feed my family, but I have other interests and abilities involving art, communication, culture, athletics, food and the human condition just to start the list that extends into the horizon.

I think that makes me better at technology, but maybe it just keeps me from being bored

Living in Salt Lake City has also given me the opportunity to absorb Agile software development philosophy and practice from close to the source. Alistair Cockburn‘s Agile Roundtable is an excellent resource for anyone who wants to drink from a well of creative insight. I’ve also been influenced by the local XP community, specifically Zhon Johansen.

I’ve recently dedicated myself to building a life for my family around an Open Source software project called Puppet. (crazy, I know) Puppet was conceived and written primarily by Luke Kanies, after working for years as an operational sysadmin and then as a system automation consultant. I believe Puppet represents a significant step forward in system management. I am not alone.

Puppet is written in Ruby, which is a pleasure to read and write, at least after years of primarily C++ and Java. (with a smattering of bash, python, perl, tcl, matlab and javascript thrown in for good measure) Ruby (and Puppet) also awoke a latent interest in functional languages and declarative constructs.

This blog will capture my thoughts and observations, my trials and tribulations, both past and present, concerning how technology and people come together to create value and opportunity. Maybe it will be useful or amusing to someone else. . .

Sometimes I might just rant😉


Leave a Reply

